UA-233667105

UEFA Champion’s League Draw 2021 Repeated After Man United Selection Error

uefadraw

UEFA suffered embarrassment on Monday when the Champions League round-of-16 draw needed to be repeated after the preliminary draw was rendered invalid on account of a clerical error the place Manchester United had been mistakenly omitted as potential opponents for Atletico Madrid.

Throughout Monday’s preliminary draw, United had been ultimately paired with Paris Saint-Germain, having earlier been positioned as opponents for Villarreal, whom they may not have met, having been in the identical group as Unai Emery’s facet

“Following a technical downside with the software program of an exterior service supplier that instructs the officers as to which groups are eligible to play one another, a cloth error occurred within the draw for the UEFA Champions League spherical of 16. Because of this, the draw has been declared void and will likely be solely redone at 3 p.m. CET (9 a.m. ET/ 2 p.m. GMT),” a UEFA spokesperson stated.

Atletico had been the subsequent workforce drawn and, whereas United ought to have been one among their potential opponents, they had been omitted as a pc glitch appeared to point they’d already been drawn after they had not.

“We’re talking to UEFA to test for an evidence and determination after the errors dedicated throughout the Champions League round-of-16 draw,” an Atletico statement learn.

The draw was repeated in a while Monday and the standout ties included Atletico Madrid v Manchester United and PSG v Actual Madrid.

Submit your response

Your email address will not be published.